OKC Tourism Website

About ISHM >

DOWNLOAD: Antitrust Policy


ISHM is believed to be the oldest petroleum industry school in the Free World devoted to fluid measurement and control. The School dates from 1924 when the first three-day session was organized as the Southwestern Gas Measurement Short Course (SGMSC). Mr. W.H. Crutcher, then Chairman of the Oklahoma Utilities Association, proposed having the school in an effort to establish a better understanding of the problems of gas measurement and to better promote improved measurement practices in this area. Sixty persons attended the Short Course, which met under the auspices of the University of Oklahoma College of Engineering on the campus at Norman, Oklahoma.  Interest in the School was apparent from the beginning, and in 1926, Professor William H. Carson who organized the Committee Structure that is in use today assumed its leadership. Dr. Carson, who became Dean of the College of Engineering in 1937, continued as head of the SGMSC until 1968.

Since its inception, except for one year during the depression of the "thirties" and one year during World War II, the School has met annually in the spring. Until 1972, the content of the Short Course was confined to Natural Gas Measurement, Flow Rate and Pressure Control. As the supply and demand problems in the United States worsened and imports of petroleum liquids increased, it became apparent that improved measurement practices were of paramount importance. The decision was made to change the name to the International School of Hydrocarbon Measurement (ISHM), and to expand the curriculum to include measurement and handling of all petroleum liquid, ranging from liquefied natural gas (LNG) to tar sand slurries. The response to these expanded offerings has been tremendous and many registrants from around the world now attend regularly.


The purpose of the School, with the cooperation and support of the University of Oklahoma, other sponsoring associations, regulatory commissions, the operating companies within the petroleum industry and the manufacturing firms who service the industry, is to provide instruction in both technical and non-technical subjects for personnel in the industry. In this way, problems that pertain to the measurement, control, and handling of both gaseous and liquid hydrocarbons may be studied so that useful and accurate information can be developed and published for the benefit of the public in general. The data and information found in the school classrooms and in the published Proceedings provides great value to all who are engaged in this phase of the industry.

The School is an undertaking that requires planning, dedication, effort and time from its committee members annually.  The School consists of two and a half days of lectures, "hands-on" classes, and extensive exhibits of measurement equipment by manufacturers.

At the time of registration, each registrant receives a copy of the current Proceeding containing the papers to be presented in all the classes that make up the School program.  Each registrant carefully plans their own School schedule to derive the maximum personal benefit from the School.


The School is governed by an Executive Committee of thirteen members, consisting of a Chairman, a Vice-Chairman, seven Past Chairman of the General Committee, three Past Chairmen of the Exhibitors Subcommittee, and one representative from the University of Oklahoma. At the end of each School, the retiring Chairman of the General Committee and Chairman of the Exhibitors Subcommittee become members of the Executive Committee and replace the members with the longest committee term of service.

Current members of the General Committee nominate candidates for membership on the General Committee to fill vacancies. The Executive Committee reviews and approves all candidates' qualifications for service.  The General committee then votes on the approved candidates for General Committee membership.

The successful candidates are formally invited to join the General Committee. The Executive Committee meets twice a year to consider membership vacancies on the General Committee and to discuss recommendations regarding the School's operation.

The General Committee is responsible for planning and conducting the annual School. The General Committee consists of twenty-eight members and is made up of the General Chairman, association members and representatives elected from industry and manufacturing. Seven General Committee members serve as Subcommittee Chairmen overseeing the following subcommittees: Program, Publications, Exhibits, Educational Materials, Exhibitors, Publicity and Arrangements. The remaining committee members perform a number of duties including Vice-chairmen of the various Subcommittees. They provide invaluable service in preparation for, and during, the School.  Special Advisors are appointed each year by the incoming General Chairman, and work closely with the General Committee. Senior Advisors are past General Committee and Executive Committee members who offer invaluable guidance based on their many years of participation in the School.  Association members from industry organizations also serve on the General Committee and include the American Petroleum Institute (API), the American Gas Association (A.G.A.), the Gas Technology Institute (GTI), the University of Texas Petroleum Extension Service (PETEX), the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) and the Gas Processors Association (GPA).  The General Committee meets three times each year in preparation for the School.

For additional information, please contact:

Leon Crowley
NORMAN, OK 73072-6400

PHONE: (405) 831-8609
EMAIL: lcrowley@ou.edu



May 15-17, 2018
May 14-16, 2019
May 12-14, 2020


Internation School of Hydrocarbon Measurement

- Register - Lodging - Facility - Classes - Program Schedule - Scholarships - CEUs - Exhibitors - Proceedings - Committee - Activities